Wednesday, November 22, 2006

Beatles "Love" Unwrapped

Love is... the Beatles.

I am so overwhelmed with the beauty and craftsmanship of this new release. Rather than just another run of the mill greatest hits repackaged for extra mileage and additional sales, this Beatles album is in my mind a new release, like one has never heard the Beatles before.

I can still hear the passion contained in the original recordings, now remixed and produced by Sir George Martin (the Beatles producer) and his son Giles Martin. The sonic textures of this recording is so clear, like a musical tapestry with remixes and snippets from other Beatles songs. I sat memorized on the couch listening to the DVD version in 5.1 mix Dolby surround... just like being the studio with all the right echoes.

I was blown away on the first track, an awesome acappella take on "Because." The lead vocals on the quiet songs like Harrison's "While My Guitar Gently Weeps", John Lennon's "Strawberry Fields Forever", Paul McCartney's "Yesterday" and even Ringo Starr's "Octopus's Garden" are stellar. The guys sound like they are right there in your living room with just their guitars.

These are mixes from the original master tapes for collaboration with Cirque Du Soleil:

This "special edition" of 'LOVE' includes the standard stereo CD and a separate Audio DVD in 5.1 surround (in both High resolution DVD-A and DVD-V resolution (Dolby Digital and DTS)).

Packaged in a slipcase, and digi-pack with two clear trays, included is a 28-page booklet printed on coated quality paper.

I picked up my copy at Target for $15.58 (CD is 9.98). You can order the Special Edition at Amazon, which I did at 19.98, but I'm told it won't arrive until November 30.

This is my hands down choice for those on my Christmas list.

Listen to it The or here at AOL

Love Screensavers and eCards here

Track listing:
1. Because
2. Get Back
3. Glass Onion
4. Eleanor Rigby/Julia (Transition)
5. I Am The Walrus
6. I Want To Hold Your Hand
7. Drive My Car/The Word/What You're Doing
8. Gnik Nus
9. Something/Blue Jay Way (Transition)
10. Being For The Benefit of Mr. Kite!/I Want You (She's So Heavy)/Helter Skelter
11. Help!
12. Blackbird/Yesterday
13. Strawberry Fields Forever
14. Within You Without You/Tomorrow Never Knows
15. Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds
16. Octopus's Garden
17. Lady Madonna
18. Here Comes The Sun/The Inner Light (Transition)
19. Come Together/Dear Prudence/Cry Baby Cry (Transition)
20. Revolution
21. Back In The U.S.S.R.
22. While My Guitar Gently Weeps
23. A Day In The Life
24. Hey Jude
25. Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (Reprise)
26. All You Need Is Love

technorati tag


Anonymous said...

The only thing I found wrong with it, is the cover. I would have prefered a mesh-up of the original Beatles covers/images.

Kerry Woo said...

Good point! Somewhere, somebody has the original artwork for Sgt. Pepper's album cover!